Affiliated Faculty

Nancy Adler, PhD
Professor and Vice Chair
Department of Psychiatry
Director, Center for Health and Community
nancy.adler@ucsf.edu

Dorie Apollonio, PhD 
Associate Professor
Department of Clinical Pharmacy
School of Pharmacy
dorie.apollonio@ucsf.edu

Sigurd Berven, MD
Associate Professor
Department of Orthopedic Surgery
bervens@orthosurg.ucsf.edu

Affiliated Faculty, Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies, UCSF
Chair of Surgery & Perioperative Care
Dell Medical School at The University of Texas at Austin
kevin.bozic@austin.utexas.edu
 

Ralph Brindis, MD MPH, MACC, FSCAI, FAHA
Clinical Professor
Department of Medicine
ralph.brindis@gmail.com

Sophia Chang, MD
Assistant Clinical Professor
Division of General Internal Medicine, SFGH
sophia.chang@att.net

Susan Chapman, MSN, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences,
School of Nursing
Senior Research Faculty, Center for the Health Professions
Nursing/ Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences
susan.chapman@ucsf.edu

Laura Esserman, MD, MBA Professor
Department of Surgery
laura.esserman@ucsfmedctr.org

Stuart Gansky, DrPH, MS
Jo
hn C. Greene Endowed Chair in Primary Care Dentistry
D
epartment of Preventive and Restorative Dental Sciences
S
chool of Dentistry
Stuart.Gansky@ucsf.edu

Annette Gardner, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor
Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, School of Nursing
annette.gardner@ucsf.edu

Lauren (Liz) Goldman, MD 
Assistant Clinical Professor
Department of Medicine
lauren.goldman@ucsf.edu

Ralph Gonzales, MD, MSPH
Professor, Division of General Internal Medicine

Department of Medicine
Chief Innovation Officer, UCSF
Ralph.Gonzales@ucsf.edu

Kevin Grumbach, MD  
Professor and Chair
Department of Family and Community Medicine
kgrumbach@fcm.ucsf.edu

Dorothy Hung, PhD
Assistant Scientist
Palo Alto Medical Foundation Research Institute
dorothy.hung@pamfri.org

Charles Irwin Jr, MD
Professor and Chief
Division of Adolescent and Young Adult Medicine
irwinch@peds.ucsf.edu

Jeffrey Lotz, PhD
Professor and Director
Center for Disruptive Musculoskeletal Innovations
Orthopaedic Bioengineering Laboratory
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
jeffrey.lotz@ucsf.edu

Robert Lustig, MD
Professor  (recalled)
Division of Endocrinology
Department of Pediatrics
rlustig@peds.ucsf.edu

Professor
Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, School of Nursing
Director, Institute for Health & Aging
wendy.max@ucsf.edu

Elizabeth Mertz, PhD, MA
Assistant Professor
Department of Preventive and Restorative Dentistry, School of Dentistry
Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, School of Nursing
elizabeth.mertz@ucsf.edu

Ulrike Muench, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences
School of Nursing
Ulrike.Muench@ucsf.edu

Robert Newcomer, PhD
Professor  (recalled)
Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, School of Nursing
robert.newcomer@ucsf.edu

Megumi Okumura, MD
Assistant Professor
Department of Pediatrics
okumuram@peds.ucsf.edu

Elissa Ozanne, PhD
Associate Professor
The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice
elissa.m.ozanne@dartmouth.edu

Anisha Patel, MD
Assistant Professor
Department of Pediatrics
patella@peds.ucsf.edu

Maria Raven, MD, MPH, MSc
Assistant Professor
Department of Emergency Medicine
Maria.Raven@ucsf.edu

Dorothy Rice
Professor Emeritus
Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, School of Nursing
dorothy.rice@comcast.net

James Robinson, PhD, MPH
Professor
Department of Health Policy & Management
Director, Center for Health Technology
UC Berkeley School of Public Health
james.robinson@berkeley.edu

Budd N. Shenkin, MD
Former President
Bayside Medical Group, Inc.
Clinical Instructor
Department of Pediatrics

Stephen Shortell, PhD
Professor and Dean Emeritus
UC Berkeley School of Public Health
shortell@berkeley.edu

Rebecca Smith-Bindman, MD
Professor
Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging
rebecca.smith-bindman@ucsf.edu

Michael A. Steinman, MD
Associate Professor
Division of Geriatrics
Department of Medicine
Mike.Steinman@ucsf.edu

Director
Center for Medical Technology Policy, Baltimore, MD
sean.tunis@cmtpnet.org

David Vlahov, PhD, RN
Dean
School of Nursing
David.Vlahov@ucsf.edu

Professor
Department of Emergency Medicine
ellen.weber@ucsf.edu

James Wiley, PhD
Professor
Department of Family and Community Medicine
jwiley3@sfsu.edu

>Home