2020 Harold S. Luft Award for Mentoring

The 2020 Cycle for Nominations has Closed.

The Harold S. Luft Award for Mentoring in Health Services and Health Policy Research is sponsored by the Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies at UCSF. The award specifically recognizes UCSF faculty who are engaged in the multidisciplinary field of health services and/or health policy research (HSR/HP), provide targeted mentoring in these specific areas, and in their mentoring roles, demonstrate the qualities exemplified by Dr. Luft. Health Services and Health Policy Research covers a range of topics, including how social factors, financing processes, health technologies, laws and regulations, and personal behaviors, among other factors, affect access to health care, the quality and cost of health care, and ultimately, our health and well-being. The main goals of this research are to identify the most effective ways to organize, finance, and deliver high quality care; reduce medical errors; and improve patient safety.


UCSF senior faculty, at Associate or Full Professor rank, with research/teaching interests in health policy and/or health services research (HP/HSR). Nomination letters should demonstrate that nominees have made significant or sustained impact on the professional development of individuals they have mentored.


  1. Inspire and stimulate mentees to do their best and most creative work in HSR/HP.
  2. Expand mentees’ ways of thinking by fostering appreciation of different points of view.
  3. Develop career opportunities for mentees.
  4. Create communities of learners and maintain life-long contact with mentees.
  5. Serve as a role model in leadership, professionalism, integrity and life balance that goes beyond the scope of their individual job responsibilities.


Must be a current or past mentee of nominee and be involved in health policy and/or health services research.


Nomination should include one primary and two supporting letters (no longer than 2 pages each) describing how the nominee meets the above criteria. Specific, but brief examples or anecdotes are helpful. Please include the nominee's recent CV with a list of the nominee’s mentees (noting, if possible, their current positions).

Please address letters to the Award Selection Committee to: Claire Brindis, DrPH, [email protected], and Juliana Fung, [email protected]

NOTE: The 2020 Cycle for Nominations has Closed.

Award Selection Committee includes representatives from the four UCSF schools.

Award – a framed certificate will be presented to the award recipient, as well as a reception will be held in their honor. The individual's name will appear on a permanent plaque at the Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies, and the individual’s profile will be posted on the Institute’s website.

Previous winners

2019: Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, Professor and Chair of the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics and Professor of Medicine, UCSF School of Medicine

2018: Margot Kushel, MD, Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine in ZSFGH, UCSF School of Medicine

2017: Mary-Margaret (Meg) Chren, MD, Professor, Department of Dermatology, UCSF School of Medicine

2016: Dean Schillinger, MD, Professor and Chief, UCSF Division of General Internal Medicine, Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital,
UCSF School of Medicine

2016: Andrew Bindman, MD, Professor, Department of Medicine, UCSF School of Medicine

2015: Ken Covinsky, MD, Edmund G. Brown Sr. Professor of Geriatrics Medicine, Division of Geriatrics, UCSF School of Medicine

2014: Wendy Max, PhD, Professor and Director, Institute for Health & Aging, UCSF School of Nursing

2013: Edward H. Yelin, PhD, Professor and Director, Arthritis Research Group, Department of Medicine, UCSF School of Medicine

2011: Ruth E. Malone, PhD, MS, RN, Professor and Chair, Department of Social & Behavioral Sciences, UCSF School of Nursing

2010:  Michael D. Cabana, MD, MPH, Professor and Director, Division of General Pediatrics, UCSF School of Medicine

2009: Lisa A. Bero, PhD, Professor and Vice Chair for Research, Department of Clinical Pharmacy, UCSF School of Pharmacy

About Hal Luft

Harold (Hal) Luft, PhD, joined UCSF and the Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies in 1978 after five years at Stanford University as a faculty member and Associate Director of the Stanford/UCSF Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholars Program. He became Associate Director of the Institute in 1986, became Acting Director in 1993, and was named Director in 1995. Since its inception in 1972, the Institute has been extremely fortunate to have leaders with broad vision, exceptional standards of excellence, and clarity of purpose. As the Institute's second director, Dr. Luft contributed to and exemplified the Institute’s legacy of leadership and service.

That legacy includes the training and mentoring of future health services research and health policy leaders. Dr. Luft often refers to himself as a 40+ years' postdoc because ever since 1973 he has been involved in teaching and mentoring graduate students, postdoctoral scholars, interns and junior faculty. He has been an exemplary teacher, mentor, and role model. Under Dr. Luft's directorship, the Institute, which is an organized research unit, continued and enhanced its leadership role in interdisciplinary training. Dr. Luft became Caldwell B. Esselstyn Professor Emeritus at UCSF in 2008 and then served for a decade as Director of the Palo Alto Medical Foundation Research Institute (PAMFRI). He continues his dedication to training future leaders in health services research and health policy.

About the Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies

The Institute was founded by Philip R. Lee, MD, in 1972 as the Health Policy Program within the UCSF School of Medicine with support from The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and UCSF. The Health Policy Program was the first in the nation to bring together a multidisciplinary group of faculty (medicine, law, ethics, and pharmacology) committed to creating an innovative health policy unit on the campus of a major academic health sciences center. Dr. Claire Brindis is the Institute’s Director.

In 1981, the UC Board of Regents designated the Institute as an organized research unit in the School of Medicine, strengthening the Institute’s ability to collaborate with departments and schools on the UCSF and other campuses. In September 2007, the Institute was renamed as The Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies in Dr. Lee's honor.

Today, the Institute is one of the nation’s premier centers for health policy and health services research. We conduct research on the health care system and health care reform, child health, adolescent health, reproductive health, chronic illness, work and health, HIV/AIDS, prescription drug policies, substance abuse, research integrity, and biomedical communications. The Institute has more than 100 faculty, research and administrative staff, and fellows. Institute faculty have appointments in departments within the Schools of Medicine, Nursing, and Pharmacy, and faculty and research staff include physicians, health services and health policy researchers, policy analysts, psychologists, political scientists, health economists, sociologists, anthropologists, epidemiologists, pharmacologists, and those trained in public health.