2019 Harold S. Luft Award for Mentoring

Harold S. Luft Award for Mentoring
in Health Services and Health Policy Research

The Harold S. Luft Award for Mentoring in Health Services and Health Policy Research is sponsored by the Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies at UCSF. The award recognizes UCSF faculty who are engaged in health services and/or health policy research, provide mentoring in these areas, and in their mentoring roles demonstrate the qualities exemplified by Dr. Luft.

The 2019 recipient is Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, PhD, MD, MAS

Previous winners

Hal Luft Award

2018: Margot Kushel, MD Professor and Director of UCSF's Center for Vulnerable Populations

2017: Mary-Margaret (Meg) Chren, MD, Professor, Department of Dermatology at UCSF

2016: Andrew Bindman, MDProfessor, Medicine, Epidemiology and Biostatistics, and Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies, UCSF School of Medicine

2016: Dean Schillinger, MDProfessor of Medicine and Chief of the UCSF Division of General Internal Medicine at Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital

2015: Ken Covinsky, MD, Clinician-Researcher, Division of Geriatrics, UCSF School of Medicine

2014: Wendy Max, PhD, Professor and Director, Institute for Health & Aging, Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, UCSF School of Nursing

2013: Edward H. Yelin, PhD, Professor, UCSF Department of Medicine’s Division of Rheumatology and the Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies

2011: Ruth E. Malone, PhD, MS, RN, Professor and Chair, Department of Social & Behavioral Sciences, UCSF School of Nursing

2010:  Michael D. Cabana, MD, MPH, Professor and Director, Division of General Pediatrics, UCSF School of Medicine

2009: Lisa A. Bero, PhD, Professor and Vice Chair for Research, Department of Clinical Pharmacy, UCSF School of Pharmacy (currently Professor in Pharmacy and the Charles Perkins Center at the University of Sydney, Australia)


UCSF senior faculty, at Associate or Full Professor rank, with research/teaching interests in health policy and/or health services research. Nomination letters should demonstrate that nominees have made significant or sustained impact on the professional development of individuals they have mentored.


  1. Inspire and stimulate mentees to do their best and most creative work.
  2. Expand their ways of thinking by fostering appreciation of different points of view.
  3. Develop career opportunities for trainees.
  4. Create communities of learners and maintain life-long contact with trainees.
  5. Serve as a role model in leadership, professionalism, integrity and life balance.

Nominator must be a current or past mentee of nominee and be involved in health policy and/or health services research.


Nomination should include one primary and two supporting letters (no longer than 2 pages each) describing how the nominee meets the above criteria. Specific but brief examples or anecdotes are helpful. Also include the nominee's recent CV with a list of the nominee’s mentees (noting, if possible, their current positions).

Award Selection Committee includes representatives from the four UCSF schools.

Award – a framed certificate will be presented to the award recipient, the individual's name will appear on a permanent plaque at the Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies, and the individual’s profile will be posted on the Institute's website.

About Hal Luft

Harold (Hal) Luft, PhD, joined the Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies and UCSF in 1978 after five years at Stanford University as a faculty member and Associate Director of the Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholars Program. He became Associate Director of the Institute in 1986, became Acting Director in 1993, and was named Director in 1995. Since its inception in 1972, the Institute has been extremely fortunate to have leaders with broad vision, exceptional standards of excellence, and clarity of purpose. As the Institute's second director, Dr. Luft contributed to and exemplified the Institute’s legacy of leadership and service.

That legacy includes the training and mentoring of future health services research and health policy leaders. Dr. Luft often refers to himself as a 40+ years' postdoc because he has been involved in teaching and mentoring graduate students, postdoctoral scholars, and interns for more than 30 years and has also advised junior faculty. He himself has been an exemplary teacher, mentor, and role model, and under Dr. Luft's directorship, the Institute, which is an organized research unit, continued and enhanced its leadership role in interdisciplinary training.

Dr. Luft was named Director of the Palo Alto Medical Foundation Research Institute (PAMFRI) in July 2008, but he maintains an Emeritus Professor title at UCSF. He continues his dedication to training future leaders in health services research and health policy, and he continues to serve as a mentor to postdoctoral fellows and junior faculty.

About the Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies

The Institute was founded by Philip R. Lee, MD, in 1972 as the Health Policy Program within the UCSF School of Medicine with support from The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and UCSF. The Health Policy Program was the first in the nation to bring together a multidisciplinary group of faculty (medicine, law, ethics, and pharmacology) committed to creating an innovative health policy unit on the campus of a major academic health sciences center. Dr. Claire Brindis is the Institute’s Director.

In 1981, the Board of Regents of the University of California designated the Institute as an organized research unit in the School of Medicine, strengthening the Institute’s ability to collaborate with departments and schools on the UCSF and other campuses. In September 2007, the Institute was renamed as The Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies in Dr. Lee's honor.

Today the Institute is one of the nation’s premier centers for health policy and health services research. We conduct research on the health care system and health care reform, child health, adolescent health, reproductive health, chronic illness, work and health, HIV/AIDS, prescription drug policies, substance abuse, research integrity, and biomedical communications. The Institute has more than 100 faculty, research and administrative staff, and fellows. Institute faculty have appointments in departments within the Schools of Medicine, Nursing, and Pharmacy, and faculty and research staff include physicians, health services researchers, policy analysts, psychologists, political scientists, health economists, sociologists, anthropologists, epidemiologists, pharmacologists, and those trained in public health.