Jinoos Yazdany, MD, MPH

School of Medicine
2540 23rd Street, #4301
San Francisco, CA 94110
Jinoos Yazdany
Education and Training

University of California, San Francisco, Residency - Internal Medicine

University of California Los Angeles, M.D. - 2000 School of Medicine

Dr. Yazdany is Chief of the Division of Rheumatology at Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital (ZSFG) and the Alice Betts Endowed Professor of Medicine at UCSF. She received her undergraduate degree from Stanford, her MD from UCLA, and her MPH from Harvard. She joined the faculty after completing internal medicine residency and fellowship in rheumatology at UCSF. As a rheumatologist specializing in systemic lupus, she practices at ZSFG and co-directs the UCSF Health Lupus Clinic.

Dr. Yazdany’s scholarship focuses on improving health care quality, safety and outcomes for individuals with chronic rheumatic diseases. She co-directs the UCSF Rheumatology Quality and Informatics Lab, an interdisciplinary group that uses health services research, informatics, and implementation science to inform national health care improvement initiatives. She has worked with colleagues to develop the American College of Rheumatology’s RISE registry that aggregates and analyzes data from rheumatology practices around the country to inform quality improvement and research projects. She has developed a number of quality measures that have been endorsed by the National Quality Forum and are being used in federal programs. She has served as PI of grants from the NIH/NIAMS, AHRQ, and CDC and is the recipient of a NIAMS K24 mentoring award. Dr. Yazdany also serves as co-director of a research core – one focused on human subjects recruitment and clinical informatics support – for the NIH/NIAMS-funded P30 UCSF PREMIER Center.

Nationally, Dr. Yazdany has held numerous leadership positions, including serving as co-chair of the ACR’s Quality Measures Subcommittee, chair of the ACR’s Registries and Health IT Committee, chair of Research and Publications for the RISE registry, and member of the NQF’s Health Professional Council. She has earned several honors and awards for her work, including the Mary Betty Stevens Young Investigator Prize from the Lupus Foundation of America, the Ephraim Engleman Award for Arthritis Research, and the Hulda Irene Duggan Arthritis Investigator Award from the Arthritis Foundation. In 2021, she was inducted into the American Society of Clinical Investigation.